One Time Donation

Recurring Donation

Donation Frequency
Donation Amount (CAD)

Recent Sermons

Verses of the Day!

Coptic Papal Election Results

From Left to Right: H.G. Bishop Tawadrous, H.G. Bishop Raphael, Hegomen Fr. Raphael Ava Mina

After a very well organized and orderly day where events unfolded as expected, a total of 2256 out of 2417 eligible voters came to cast their vote.

The final results of the Coptic Papal Election were announced today, Monday, October 29th, 2012 by His Eminence Metropolitan Pachomios, the Patriarchal Locum Tenens, at St. Mark’s Coptic Orthodox Cathedral located in the Abbassia District in Cairo, Egypt.

The total number of eligible voters was 2,417.  Among these, 161 voters were absent and 2 ballots were invalid making the actual number of votes 2,254 of the 2,417. This represents an impressive 93.25% rate for voter turnout.

The votes received by the five candidates are as follows:

  • Hegomen Fr. Bakhomious El-Souriany (305 votes)
  • His Grace Bishop Tawadrous (1623 votes)
  • His Grace Bishop Raphael (1980 votes)
  • Hegomen Fr. Raphael Ava Mina (1530 votes)
  • Hegomen Fr. Seraphim El-Souriany (680 votes)

Based on these numbers the three candidates from whom the next pope will be chosen are:

  • His Grace Bishop Raphael
  • His Grace Bishop Tawadrous
  • Hegomen Fr. Raphael Ava Mina

The Divine Lottery will take place on November 4th. At the conclusion of a liturgy prayed by His Eminence Metropolitan Pachomios, a blindfolded child will pick the name of the next Pope from amongst these three candidates.

We pray that our Lord Jesus Christ guide us through this process and help us to choose a good shepherd for His church according to His will.

Source: click here.

Leave a Reply

You can use these HTML tags

<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>